Skip to content

Papé faces citing as Ireland's Heaslip awaits results of scan on worrying back injury

The Ireland number eight underwent medical tests in Dublin last night after being kneed by the France lock.

PASCAL PAPÉ IS expected to be cited for kneeing Jamie Heaslip during Ireland’s 18-11 win over France in Dublin yesterday evening, as the number eight awaits the final results of a scan on the resultant back injury.

Heaslip underwent medical tests at the Aviva Stadium last night amidst strong concerns that he could be set for an extended spell on the sidelines. Ireland are expected to provide an official confirmation of the injury tomorrow.

RBS 6 Nations / YouTube

France second row Papé was yellow carded by referee Wayne Barnes in the 53rd minute of the Six Nations encounter for what looked to be a deliberate act in lifting his left knee into Heaslip’s lower back as the Ireland number eight attempted to make a choke tackle.

Heaslip continued to play until the 59th minute, when he was replaced by Jordi Murphy and left the field in visible pain.

“He’s very uncomfortable at the moment, he got a knee in the lower back,” said Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt post-game in Dublin.

“We’ll get him checked out in the next couple of days. At least we can come up for breath for a couple of days before we start our preparation for England, so we’ll wait to see how Jamie is. He’s pretty uncomfortable at the moment.”

Schmidt stays grounded as potential Six Nations decider against England looms

Birthday boy O’Brien relieved to survive late French onslaught

Close
56 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Obi Wan Kenobi
    Favourite Obi Wan Kenobi
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:10 AM

Robbie Keane has nothing to prove.

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Favourite Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 4th 2016, 1:56 PM

Has been a flat track bully over the last half-a-dozen years.

We won’t be playing Faroe Islands in June.

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:41 AM

Add Darron Gibson to that list….. Can’t even make the Everton bench now others are back from injury. (Unlike many others who seem to think he got better while injured), dont think he’s good enough to start for us, but would like to see him back playing regular club football.

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 4th 2016, 1:58 PM

If – and it’s a big if – Gibson can secure first team football between now and June he deserves to go. He’s a proven commodity at this level unlike Arter.

Everton were in fantastic form when he got a run of games.

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Jan 4th 2016, 4:13 PM

Yeah to be honest (and I don’t like saying this because I had high hopes) I’m not sure he is proven at international level – not sure he was ever massively convincing for us. We always had that hope that ‘once he got a run of games’ he’d be better for us, but when they did come (I) it was down to others being injured and (2) he got injured playing for us before he could show anything. It’s a real pity. Arter has been playing first team football, when fit, for two seasons now and has impressed in a way I’m not sure Gibson ever did. I’d take him if it’s between the two.

Mute goon4life
    Favourite goon4life
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:17 AM

Rob Elliot has to start in goal, Newcastle No.1 playing week in week out and playing really well, pulled off some top saves against Arsenal at the weekend. No brainier for me.

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Jan 4th 2016, 4:15 PM

Couple of those saves were because of strange decisions to punch rather than catch though – ended up leading to further chances (that he admittedly saved). Give him a chance, but Randolph inspires more confidence for me.

Mute Mark Corrigan
    Favourite Mark Corrigan
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:15 AM

Arter and judge are far better options than mcgeady.

Mute Noah Rossiter
    Favourite Noah Rossiter
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:28 AM

I want to know what Keiran Westwood has to do to be considered, the best goalkeeper in the championship last year and consistently starting games every week

Mute Robert O'Rourke
    Favourite Robert O'Rourke
    Jan 4th 2016, 2:33 PM

He fell out with MON at Sunderland.

Mute Alan Quinn
    Favourite Alan Quinn
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:52 AM

What else does Robbie Keane have to do?

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 4th 2016, 1:57 PM

Score against teams that aren’t bottom seeds and contribute in overall play like Murphy, Long and Walters do?

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:27 AM

I wouldn’t worry about anything Ronny Delia says about McGeady.. Delia is one bad result away from the sack.. O’Neill and Dermot Desmond are good mates, guaranteed McGeady will be a Celtic player come the end of January..

Mute Nick Condon Sen
    Favourite Nick Condon Sen
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:41 AM

Are related to MON or DD which used be known as Double Diamond years ago ? ?.Some of the comments on articles are so amusing

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:59 AM

Sorry Nick could you write that in English please?

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Ciaran Rice
    Favourite Ciaran Rice
    Jan 4th 2016, 2:25 PM

The problem is that Deila isn’t one game away from the sack! Celtic are still persisting with him even though the team gets worse every week.

Anyway, to McGeady. The most naturally gifted player we have in the squad but his confidence is shot to feck. McGeady is too inconsistent, he’ll pop up with a piece of brilliance then will be complete muck for the next 5 games.

McGeadys big problem is that he is not a winger but ever since MON brought him through at Celtic that’s where he has played. McGeady was a number 10 through his entire youth. Unfortunately MON didn’t really understand how to use a creative midfielder at Celtic so he was shunted to the wing and has pretty much been there ever since. He doesn’t have the attributes to be a winger other than being able to dribble. Can’t cross and isn’t particularly quick.

McGeady has the same issues he had a 18, glimpses of class but with no end product. I’d love O’Neill to give him a run in midfield but O’Neill has the same issue he had at Celtic he doesn’t know how to effectively use a creative midfielder.

Mute Nick Condon Sen
    Favourite Nick Condon Sen
    Jan 5th 2016, 11:09 AM

Point taken ! As I belong to a category of the population that is now officially known as “Seniors” I tend to get my fingers crossed, not my wires dare I say, from time on the “ould” smartphone. I also might have been intertupted by one of the grand kids wishing to engage in a blast of Trivial Pursuits.I suppose one could say thats what Im doing right now as I have a little free time on my hands !! What triggered my original post I cannot really recall right now – It obviously didnt engage my brain very well ! Again apologies for the misuse and the abuse of the “ould” English. Its very remiss of me particularly since I used it, albeit in a more cliched format,very extensively in a previous life. I better quit now a I am an avuncular kind of individual prone to a little causticism ! To quote the old Hill Street Blues (before your time I reckon) Bí Curamach out there Níoclás PS; At the risk of being a name dropper I did meet the main man from Kilrea on a few occasions

Mute jamespflynn
    Favourite jamespflynn
    Jan 4th 2016, 12:12 PM

Keane should not be selected. Huge fan of his, but his time is over.

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan
    Jan 4th 2016, 3:09 PM

I am not sure Randolph or Keane have anything to prove. They will make the squad unless injured. The other lads are probably more at risk or have less chance of a call up anyway.

Mute Barry Crosse
    Favourite Barry Crosse
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:56 PM

Darren Randolph has nothing to prove. Less of the hate

Mute Barry Crosse
    Favourite Barry Crosse
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:53 PM

Darren Randolph has nothing to prove. Stop hating on him

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.