FIRAS ZAHABI HAS been involved in some of the biggest fights in UFC history, but the man who coached Georges St Pierre believes that Conor McGregor versus Chad Mendes could be up there with the best of them.
McGregor and Mendes will lock horns at UFC 189 on Saturday night at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, with the winner being crowned the interim UFC featherweight champion.
Zahabi will also be there on the night, as he aims to help Rory MacDonald to defeat Robbie Lawler in the co-main event and bring the UFC welterweight belt back to their Tristar Gym in Montreal.
But like everyone involved in MMA, Zahabi is eager to see the meeting of McGregor and Mendes. He provided a very insightful take on some of the strengths of both fighters for MMAjunkie.com — analysing McGregor’s pendulum punch and wheel and tornado kicks, among other techniques.
Zahabi expects Mendes to provide McGregor with the toughest challenge of his career this weekend. He said: “This is probably going to be the fight of the year. People are going to be talking about this fight for a long time to come, no matter what the outcome.
“This fight is equally skilled on both sides. It will be an epic fight but mainly because Conor McGregor brings something so interesting to this fight.
“There’s a big question mark: how good is he? We all know he’s got amazing skills as he’s dispatched all his opponents, but he’s never fought anybody at the level of Chad Mendes. Chad Mendes will let us know exactly how good Conor McGregor is.
“Not only is Conor McGregor an incredible technician, but he also has an incredibly sharp tongue. If he does win this fight, expect it to be the Ultimate McGregor Fighting Championship from here on in. You will never hear the end of it.
“We will all be getting an earful. The featherweight division will be getting an earful on a daily basis from across the world… not only from Conor McGregor himself, but from all his fans. This fight could change the face of the UFC…”
Frightening strength in depth. Kiely has done an incredible job to mould the squad into such a formidable outfit. Anything can happen in championship in a knock out game but they look in ominous nick. Cian Lynch back is massive, makes last year’s All-Ireland winning campaign all the more impressive.
Tbh I find it the opposite to boring!! As a Waterford man I love watching limerick hurl incredible skill sets popping 30/40 yard passes inside opposition 65 when area not clogged with 11/12 defenders and then to be able to completely transition into hitting balls over the bar from there own 65 when faced with multiple sweepers…they look to have all facets of the game in there arsenal with an awesome array of talent from the keeper to the 5/6 subs that enter the fray …won’t be beaten this year
@Dano27: I wouldn’t write of Waterford,on paper I think ye have the best 15 to challenge Limerick,if Limerick don’t win Liam,would love to see Waterford win Liam.
Limerick never get the credit for their hurling ability. Their hurling skills are excellent.
Has Become such a boring sport
@Macodub: sorry for your boredom, we in Limerick feel entertained… and privileged.
@Mike Kennedy: I’ve read a lot of both positive and negative commentary about Limerick over the past few years, but one thing I’ve never heard is that they’re boring
@Mike Kennedy: Mike not Limerick per say.. Hurling in general
@Macodub: I didn’t assume you were referencing Limerick alone Maco, but were you bored by last years Munster and All Ireland hurling finals? Enthralling games that went down to the wire.
They’re conditioning is off the charts too – look like a pro rugby team
Been going to Limerick games with my wife since 2005 and our youngest son more recently. This squad this year looks incredible. Strength in depth in every position it seems. Only one I worry about is sub keeper. Seems a good keeper but a bit of a drop off from Quaid
Limerick style is slowly killing hurling. They’re extremely every other county is weak.
Kilkenny, Tipperary, Galway and Cork never had such weak hurling teams
@John Prendergast: …..extremely lucky…..
@John Prendergast: cry more John, cry me more salty tears lol. Extremely lucky other counties are weak? Absolutely not Limericks issue. The same way it wasn’t Corks, Tipp or Kilkennys fault when we were weak for many years and they went unchallenged, its a challenge others have to rise to, quit the crying about it.
@John Prendergast: So being the most skillful at hurling is killing hurling, Limericks time will to a end like the cats before or the great Kerry and Dublin teams in football,it’s not Limericks fault that they are the most skillful team at hurling and teams are spending more trying to stop Limerick play hurling,the only way you will beat Limerick is to play hurling.
@Daniel Roche: will come to a end.
@Daniel Roche: Limerick style is more stamina and physical over skillful. However can all hurl extremely good.
When Kilkenny dominated they had to beat prob the greatest Tipperary, Cork and Waterford teams. Also, Galway team were very good and I won’t put them as their greatest team as the team in the 80′s won back to back. Even though Joe Canning is Galway’s greatest hurler
Limerick are fortunate for this reason. The current teams out there are so weak at the moment, Limerick will win with eyes closed and play running backwards. There is no competition for them.
@John Prendergast: You aren’t watching Limerick if you don’t think they are skillful,have you never watched a game of hurling.
@John Prendergast: Other teams are only weak in comparison to Limerick. KK, Clare and Galway are also big powerful players but Limerick come out on top because of a brilliant mix of skill, size, tactics and sheer hard work
@John Prendergast: going by that logic, all the All-Irelands previously won by Kilkenny, tipp and cork can be dubbed fortunate wins bcos of the others not being good enough? Your logic makes zero sense, you’ll always have a top dog in any sport across the competition, atm Limerick are mixing it up anyway they want and as of now, it’s very hard to stop. Same was said of the fantastic Kilkenny teams and others down through the years, I’d rather stand back and marvel at what they have done, and I did, than hate on one team for dominating and displaying a superior range of skills than the opponents. It’ll end in time don’t worry, just enjoy the ride for now!
@John Prendergast: you are either bitter or clueless but probably both!! Limerick barely squeezed past Clare, Galway and Kilkenny last year to win an epic All Ireland.
Stop embarrassing yourself John.
@FoxyBoiiYT: the other trams have extremely weak hurlers.
Limerick are very skillfull but stamina and physically is more the difference. Its obvious when you see teams togged out. I’m only saying the truth….that Kilkenny team on Sunday look very average skillfully, physically and stamina…
How they got to a final beggars believe.
Limerick for the next 5 all irelands. Which will ruin the game imho
@John Prendergast:
Keep going John, I’m enjoying the challenge of deciphering your posts