Cork City 4
Levadia Tallinn 2
(Cork City win 6-2 on aggregate)
Paul Dollery reports from Turner’s Cross
CORK CITY WILL face AEK Larnaca of Cyprus in the second qualifying round of the Europa League after a hat-trick from Sean Maguire fired the Leesiders to victory in the second leg of their first-round tie against Levadia Tallinn.
In front of an attendance of 6,314 at a sold-out Turner’s Cross, City found themselves 2-1 down on the night at the interval. However, three second-half goals from Maguire gave John Caulfield’s side a 6-2 aggregate victory over the Estonians, as the Preston-bound striker took his competitive tally for the season to 22 in all competitions.
With a two-goal deficit to overturn from the first leg, there was a sense of urgency about Levadia from the outset. Joao Morelli asked the first question of Mark McNulty, but his long-range effort was struck straight at the City goalkeeper in the eighth minute.
But the home side were the width of a post away from extending their advantage moments later. Jimmy Keohane’s deep cross from the right found Garry Buckley, whose looping header back across goal hit the crossbar.
There was a nervy moment for Levadia when goalkeeper Sergei Lepmets failed to deal with Kevin O’Connor’s cross from the left, but Karl Sheppard was unable to pounce.
On 15 minutes, Levadia went ahead on the night. The lively Evgenii Kobzar took on Keohane down the left, before cutting inside and drilling a superb right-footed shot beyond McNulty from approximately 20 yards out.
Perhaps for the first time this season at Turner’s Cross, City began to look slightly unsure of themselves in the immediate aftermath of the opening goal. However, they eventually found their rhythm and restored their two-goal advantage.
Ryan Delaney’s header went wide from an O’Connor cross, but after O’Connor was fouled on the left in the 28th minute, Sheppard met Bolger’s free-kick at the near post and headed the ball beyond Lepmets.
Four minutes later, however, Levadia struck again. Kobzar was again the instigator, this time breaking down the right before crossing for Nikita Andreev, whose brilliant header left McNulty with no chance. But City were furious as Kobzar appeared to handle the ball in the build-up.
Sheppard twice sought to respond for the home side. His attempted lob was just off target, before a header from O’Connor’s cross also went wide shortly before the interval. Nevertheless, City only had to wait 30 seconds after the restart to score their second of the night.
Buckley broke towards the Shed End and sprayed the ball wide to Sheppard. His low cross from the right fell to Maguire, who finished with a delightful flick from close range. Maguire’s first Europa League goal of this campaign, added to the three he scored last season, saw him equal Dan Murray’s club record of four goals in Europe. But there was more to come.
With four minutes remaining, Maguire beat Lepmets after being teed up in the box by substitute Achille Campion. The SSE Airtricity League’s leading goalscorer completed his hat-trick in the final minute of normal time, heading home emphatically from Shane Griffin’s corner.
Cork City: Mark McNulty; Jimmy Keohane, Conor McCormack, Ryan Delaney, Kevin O’Connor; Greg Bolger (Achille Campion, 85); Karl Sheppard (Steven Beattie, 69), Gearoid Morrissey, Garry Buckley, Stephen Dooley (Shane Griffin, 78); Sean Maguire.
Levadia Tallinn: Sergei Lempets; Igor Dudarev, Artom Atrjunin, Maksim Podholjuzin, Aime Gando; Mark Roosnupp, Josip Krznaric, Evgenii Kobzar (Pavel Marin, 60); Joao Morelli, Rimo Hunt; Nikita Andreev (Ingimar Teever, 87).
Referee: Gunnar Jarl Jonsson (Iceland).
game of the season.
It was alright. bit sloppy for the most part but most of them tried their best.
presumably your joking right
I fell asleep during the second half lol. It wasn’t the worst was just expecting more.
I’d say you get that comment a lot from your lovers
@Katie, more likely that your generator ran out of petrol.
haha that was bad form in fairnness
Yes it was a fabulous game but let’s not go forgetting that up to today it’s mostly been a dreadful hurling championship. Today only highlights how the people that run the game have utterly failed it. Well done to Galway and seamus callinan.
I’d say katie finds it hard to get a man if she only uses her feet to play with balls!!
The stands were lifting. My voice is gone. Fantastic match. I’m real proud of ye Galway today, that required sheer grit and determination.
incredible game…. a testament to both teams and the reason why hurling is one of the best games in the world
Well it requires a lot less skill than most sports but it can be fun to watch the odd time.
@Katie, bad attempt at trolling. Foolish comment.
It’s not trolling. its just much easier to use a stick to drive a ball than your own feet.
Oh Katie.. Don’t be a knob.. That was an excellent game. You’d fall over your ignorance if u attempted the same!
Hahahahaha , just trying to rise people today I suppose u must b bored , fastest field sport in the world , ask a baseball R cricket players would they even b brave enough to try and catch a ball with opposing players swinging a weapon at their hand , also both sports when striking a ball u r in a stationary position and the ball must b thrown towards that area, yet these R professional sports where the players R paid very well , that’s only two sports I compared it too
Mary I doubt Katie even watched the match. she’s just commenting to get a reaction……..attention seeker
The hitting the ball is the easy part.
It’s the rising under pressure, fielding the ball with someone ready to take your hand off oh and there is the pin point accuracy of hitting the ball from 65m away to within a cm of where you want.
So don’t be a complete muppet. You must have 7 or 8 all Ireland’s in your back pocket to be making a crazy comment like that.
One competitive game all year won by a team whose defence is weak and they are there to be taken to the cleaners by the cats – Cody smiling all the way to another all Ireland
Try it sometime dear!!!
Lotto, nail on head. Was lucky to be there. Breathtaking action right till the last.
shut your hole you don’t know what your on about.
Congratulations to Galway from a hugely disappointed Tipp man. You deserved that victory 100% with such commitment, never-say-die attitude and some great skill. I think Galway supporters will know they’ll need to raise their game even higher again to beat KK, but that victory will bring belief and confidence and momentum, and honestly the very best of luck to them.
What a game lads. Time for a shower and a fresh pair of jocks
Cracking game . We were well beaten all day bar Seamy. Brilliant stuff from galway . One just hopes now that it’s not their one good game all summer and they can bring that sort of commitment to the final .
one of the best games I have ever seen I’m wrecked after that
Fantastic game of hurling !!
Awesome game, best of the championship, had it all!! Shame there had to be a loser
What an amazing game of hurling. Unbelievable stuff from both teams. Pity there had to be a loser.
Galways workrate and tenacity was unreal. Credit to both teams for an unbelievable match
Well done Galway. It’s disappointing to have Trolls on the Journal. I was asked to verify my account with phone number etc. Would be great if The Journal could do the same with all the existing accounts to eliminate the Trolls. Hurling is a fantastic game and today proved it.
I agree.
ya we could get rid of people like u
fantastic game. great to see Noel Mc Grath back on the field. Best of luck to Galway in the final
Yes! Hurling match of the 2015 Championship, so far.
What incredible skill levels by both teams and, in the end, just the puck of a ball in it!
And what about that Joe Canning sideline cut for a point…
A professional golfing career is surely a possibility for this wizard!
as a tipp man well done galway they just about shaded it .galway had a better spread of scorers .the tipp forward line was poor .seamie callanan almost single handly stole it for tipp . drive it on galway & bring Liam back
Congratulations Galway. Super game, best of the season by far.
Absolute classic – credit to both teams. Tipp’s forwards (aside from Callanan) were poor while Galway’s main man (Canning) was inconsistent – he hit 5 wides from play and also missed a 65 and penalty in the first half. Huge improvement required to beat KK but they have a chance.
Championship 2015 finally produces a game with everything! Brilliant from both sides. Hopefully the final produces more of the same…with the same result!!!
The whole pub stood up and clapped after that game, great entertainment, wont be a better GAA game this year
I’m absolutely delighted for Galway what a brilliant game true winners the West Awake on September.
People of Galway I love you
From one neutral ……greatest game of hurling I’ve seen bar the 1973 all ireland final but I was only 7 months old for that so could have been wrong
Was it really as good as last years all Ireland final? The drawn match.
It was close but I don’t think it was as good.
Katie and Lindsay can both go f#ck themselves with Bernard Brogan’s boot, but that was the best game from Irish sport this year, shame we lost. But fair play to Galway and also delighted for Joe Canning and Seamus Callinan in particular for standing up after their last games and showing what they’re all about.
Sounds hot.
This bimbo hates hurling & wants everyone to stop talking about it but goes into a comment section entirely focussed on hurling to say this? And then calls someone else dopey? What a tool.
You don’t like hurling either, so why are you here? Maybe I don’t want to read crap on an otherwise good news site, and I’m trying to introduce quality control.
quality control would be more about the writer than the sport. Maybe try controlling the quality of your own output. The vast majority clearly believe you’re sub par
I love hurling you dumbass. Where did I say I didn’t like it? Y’know your comments depict an intelligence that the only drama you’d be fit for is Barney the dinosaur.
I’m making sure we don’t get crap articles actually. Jimmy, you have a profile picture with rugby on it, either you like rugby or hurling, and unless you’re being ironic, you chose rugby. And for your information, I was in a cereal ad and an episode of a soap before, so get your facts right.
That’s the first time you’ve said the article was crap. what exactly displeased you about it? how dare an Irish sports news app have an article on irish sport! I live hurling, football, soccer, rugby, golf, and much more. just because two things can’t occupy your brain at one time doesn’t mean we’re all that dim
Well you can only like one. Pick one now.
as I said, unlike you most people have the mental capacity to like more than one thing at a time. it’s like asking someone what the only food they like is
Pick one now.
apples
No, you’re just contributing crap to articles. And a profile picture is hardly a detailed profile of a person. No doubt your glorious achievements will inspire us all to eat corn flakes while watching Coronation Street for the rest of our days.
So… rugby or hurling?
Both. You can throw gaelic football & soccer in there too. Perhaps if I had a profile picture of a gaelic footballer hitting a rugby ball with a hurl into a goal, it might make sense to you.
Why are you refusing to answer a simple question?
I think of it more as refusing to answer a stupid question from a simple person
Hahaha brilliant! Funniest comeback I’ve ever heard I was in a cereal commercial pmsl!!!!!
I fear the answer would be too much for you. Now lie down before you hurt yourself.
Mr O Keeffe, somewhere there is a nail with a very sore head…
Oh my my! What a game had everything in the first 60 seconds and then just kept giving! Need a lie down after that
Just WOW, best sport in the world
Good game and very exciting , wouldn’t go as far as saying it was one of the best ever ! 2 many mistakes and poor performances to call it a classic ! some match all the same , galway look like a team that could put it up to the cats in a few weeks ! Great to see noel mcgrath back playing again !
What an absolutely incredible game of hurling! The skill and commitment levels on show were simply world class, we as a nation should be very proud to have hurling and the GAA as our national sports. Well done to both teams and thanks for putting on an exhibition!
Magnificent game, thought a draw was inevitable, both teams deserved something though Tipp over reliant on Callinan
omg ,bring on the cats
holy fook
Fantastic play from both sides. Well done Galway and especially the Mannion brothers from my neighbouring parish. Hurling and camogie are games that require skill and it’s a great game to watch as well as play. Can’t wait for the final.
Just wondering did anyone else think Barry Kelly made a few unusual decisions in terms of frees there ??
Yes, several in the first half.
No. played the advantage well. thought he had a good game and let it flow.
He should have played advantage when the goal was scored in first half but he had blown.
Yes definitely a few questionable ones
I thought he had a good game overall. The players decided this game, not the ref.
I thought myself now that he seemed to give Galway an awful lot of soft frees where Tipperary were made work an awful lot harder for there’s
Best game in years, well done Galway, felt a bit sorry for Tipp, get those Galway flags out, too many Mayo flags about!! Gaillimh Abu!!
In 14 seasons of Hurling, Tipp only have One All Ireland!
2 actually. 2001. And Galway have…..zip.
Players on the Galway team were not born when they won the last All Ireland, beggars belief! 1988
Runners up, 1990, 1993, 2001, 2005, 2012……..going for 6 in a row now! :(
Matt you’re a Muppet if soccer was more skillful then why is it more boring and why aren’t there more goals. soccer was better when players were paid less and it was more entertaining
obviously soccer is more entertaining bar our country and a few outsiders not many people care about the gaa final. compare this to the champions league final people from countries all over the world are watching. #stats educate
here’s a stat, there’ll be 2000 more people at each GAA final than at the Champions League final
goes without saying mate.. here’s another stat, there’ll be more people queuing for the toilets in Croker than attend a domestic soccer games in the month of September.
“MunsterExile, that match today was excellent, proven simply by the fact that my family were all in the room together, not knowing anything about the sport, but all enthralled”
Written by a welsman in Wales on drop kick rugby’s forum.
Says it all, what a game.
Great game, best team just about won it, Tipp too soft and intensity not there, Tipps goalie a good shot stopper but absolutely terrible otherwise and cost them countless points, Cody smiling like a Cheshire Cat on his way out of Croker and will eat Galway alive in the final.
Ooh galway won??? That means an easy all ireland for kilkenny…im from cork and even i believe that Tipp are the only county that can beat kilkenny…they’ll be like mayo and sink without a trace in the final
Shame on you cally , comparing Galway to Mayo, they are no bottlers!!!
Bottlers!! And time will tell
I hate hurling, stop talking about it.
Said nobody ever
No
stay away from articles about it so dopey
You stay away from me dopey, I have a degree in drama.
what’s that got to do with anything dopey
Then stay the Puck-Out of here lindsay.
Means I’m not dopey, dopey.
I broke the dam
You’re a dam idiot.
I agree, Lindsay.
Drama!! That’s appropriate
a degree in drama and replying to yourself. yup, nothing wrong there
#iblamemonologues
Stop being judgey. Actresses have feelings too.
says the person that only came here to judge
Only cause I’m better than you all.
*because. was it not English drama you got a degree in?
Well here’s a tip then don’t click on a subject that’s about hurling dumbass
Keep going Lindsay, loving this!!!
No, just drama.
Thanks Peadar.
really? what dramas that weren’t in English did you study?
I studied dramas in English, I just never studied grammar or spelling or anything like that.
so you did study English drama then?
Lindsay your are also an idiot
I studied performance techniques, and we looked at some dramas written in English. That has nothing to do with grammar. Just quit while you’re ahead.
Nikki, don’t call me an idiot while misusing basic words.
at least we agree I’m ahead.
you’re*
I’m not misusing words it’s auto correct ;)
Also Lindsay it’s damn not dam….before you call someone out on their spelling make sure your own is in order. Idiot.
It’s a pun based on the reference to dams earlier. Shakespeare used puns, maybr idiots like you don’t understand them.
Educated people like myself prefer irony to dumbed down puns for the lower down the scale such as yourself
*maybe
idiot
Don’t be so hard on yourself
The GAA are none too pleased with Shane Coleman for costing them €1 million.
Sorry Shane Moloney
the hurling match was good but tbh anybody can pick up a hurl and just become a hurler everyday. where as in soccer we have to learn a lot more skills than hurling players this is why hurling isn’t paid because there is no skill involved
so the level of pay is directly determined by the skill required?
I’d like to see you do what Seamie Callinan did today Matt.
yes obviously why would you get paid 0 for playing gaa. but you get paid thousands for being a footballer. at the end of the day we can even see by the Irish national team that our country hasn’t got the skill for football
yet they get paid thousands for it. what was your point again?
That some crazy logic you have the Matt
that’s the most invalid and ridiculous comment I ever seen lol
stop reading your own comments then
Did you realise that hurling is an amateur game played to professional standards for the love of the game? A lot more dignified than the Nancy boys who must have attended acting school in order to try get their opponents sent off on the soccer pitch.
Matt your an idiot
Seriusly, Dave, Cathal?? Y are ye even bothering yet arse replying?
I stopped 4 hours ago
A very exciting game no doubt, but the quality at times was questionable. The Tipp forwards (aside from Callinan) were poor. Massive work-rate from Galway but lacking a real goal threat. They are probably the one team KK don’t relish playing all the same.
Thanks to both teams for an absolute cracker of a game.