Advertisement
Colin Kaepernick takes a knee before the 49ers' game with the Seahawks. Ted S. Warren/AP/Press Association Images

The Redzone: As more black Americans die, Colin Kaepernick's protest speaks louder than ever

Life is about more than sport.

IT WAS THE hottest of takes on Sunday evening. For the Carolina Panthers to lose at home to the Minnesota Vikings โ€” bereft of their starting quarterback and franchise running back โ€”  it must have had something to do with the protests going on outside Bank of America Stadium.

The city of Charlotte had been on high alert for nearly a week as protesters gathered downtown to mark the shooting dead of 43-year-old Keith Lamont Scott by a Charlotte-Mecklenburg police officer.

Those tensions escalated further on Wednesday of last week when another man โ€“ Justin Carr โ€” died after sustaining gunshot wounds as the protests turned violent.

In the wake of the second death, North Carolina Governor, Pat McCrory, declared a state of emergency and there was even talk of moving the game from Charlotte.

However, it went ahead on Sunday and the only protest involved 100 people kneeling outside the stadium as the national anthem played.

Vikings Panthers Football Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. Mike McCarn / AP/Press Association Images Mike McCarn / AP/Press Association Images / AP/Press Association Images

Inside the stadium, and to surprise of some as he wore a Martin Luther King quote on his t-shirt in the warm-up, Carolina Quarterback Cam Newton did not take a knee during the Stars and Stripes.

Indeed, the only protest against the anthem came from Panthers safety Marcus Ball raising his fist.

At the press conference after the game, an encounter in which they were resoundingly beaten by a rival for the NFC title, Ron Rivera was asked repeatedly if the events in Charlotte during the week had affected the teamโ€™s build-up to the fixture.

โ€œI donโ€™t think thatโ€™s fair,โ€ he said.

โ€œWhen we are here, we practise and we do the things we are supposed to do. We got out and answered the questions. What happened here was very tragic and what we were hoping to do was come out and put that aside for a while. We just didnโ€™t play very well.โ€

The loss leaves Carolina with as many defeats as they had all of last season but they can take some heart from the fact that both came at the hands of probable playoff teams. But there are bigger things than sport at play here.

Athletes protesting is nothing new. Indeed, black athletes in particular often find themselves having to take a stand on social justice issues.

But the reason that the likes of Muhammad Ali and Jackie Robinson are held in such high esteem and Colin Kaepernick is regarded as the most hated athlete in America is because we like our protests to be in the past.

Itโ€™s much easier to criticise our predecessors than take a look at ourselves and how we โ€” the human race โ€” have fostered a society where the simple act of taking a knee during a song provokes such hatred and anger when the extra-judicial killing of unarmed black Americans he is protesting is often greeted with a shrug of the shoulders.

Eagles Falcons Football Mike Ditka has strong views on the protest. Brynn Anderson Brynn Anderson

Last week, former Super Bowl winning head coach โ€” not to mention Hall of Fame tight end โ€” Mike Ditka told a radio station in Dallas that Kaepernick should โ€œget the hell outโ€ of America.

Mike Ditka is an idiot.

How else could you explain the following statement:

I have no respect for Colin Kaepernick โ€“ he probably has no respect for me, thatโ€™s his choice. My choice is, I like this country, I respect our flag, and I donโ€™t see all the atrocities going on in this country that people say are going on.โ€

The undercurrent of Ditkaโ€™s argument, one he may not even realise heโ€™s making himself, is that Kaepernick and people like him, whose ancestors were slaves, who were uprooted from their own country and upon whose blood and sweat the United States of America was built, should leave.

Itโ€™s exactly that attitude, this othering of black Americans by people who know nothing of their struggles, that has led us to this situation.

Last week also produced another, far more interesting take on the Kaepernick protest from Richard Sherman, Seattle Seahawks defensive back and no friend of the San Francisco 49ers quarterback.

Earlier this month, Sherman supported Kaepernick but suggested he maybe could have chosen a different form of protest.

In August he said:

โ€œThis country is the same country that had โ€˜whitesโ€™ and โ€˜colouredโ€™ signs on the bathroom.

โ€œWeโ€™re still in that country, weโ€™re still in that nation. And that needs to be acknowledged and that needs to be changed. There are people with that mentality that still exists, and that needs to change. There are people who still treat people of colour with subjectivity.

โ€œThey treat them a certain way. They categorise them. They put them in a certain category. There are certain statistics that are put out there to make sure police profile certain people in certain neighborhoods, and that needs to change.

โ€œSo there is some depth and some truth to what heโ€™s doing.

I think he could have picked a better platform and a better way to do it, but every day they say athletes are so robotic and do everything by the book. And then when somebody takes a stand like that, he gets his head chopped off.โ€

Last week, after more deaths, his tone was angrier:

โ€œI think the last couple of days a couple more guys have gotten shot and killed in the middle of the street.

โ€œMore videos have come out of guys getting killed, and I think people are still missing the point. Itโ€™s not right for people to get killed in the street.

I think you have players that are trying to take a stand and trying to be aware of social issues and try to make a stand and increase peopleโ€™s awareness and put a spotlight on it and theyโ€™re being ignored.

โ€œWhether theyโ€™re taking a knee or whether theyโ€™re locking arms, theyโ€™re trying to bring people together and unite them for a cause.โ€

How history will judge Kaepernick remains to be seen but Ali was widely vilified when he chose not to fight in the Vietnam war and his death earlier this year produced millions of words in tribute to the boxer.

Of course, youโ€™re probably thinking to yourself that thereโ€™s a massive difference between being the best boxer to ever live and a back-up quarterback with one of the worst teams in the NFL.

But it shouldnโ€™t matter. Colin Kaepernick has right on his side and, as long as unarmed black Americans continue to be killed on the streets, more and more players will take a stand by taking a knee.

The Green Bay Packers exploited a little-known kickoff rule with this clever play

Purple reigns supreme as the NFC sees a power shift in week 3

Close
15 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Ontheway1
    Favourite Ontheway1
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:00 PM

Jaysus Murray. You must have been typing since the weekend! Looks like a great article. Fair play.

Mute Dara ร“'Mhaoilmhiaigh
    Favourite Dara ร“'Mhaoilmhiaigh
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:10 AM

Murray I dunno how your not doing TV punditry or backroom analysis with a provincial or AIL set up. Your level of attention to detail is phenomenal and makes for fantastic reading. Keep it up.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Nov 9th 2016, 10:41 AM

@Dara ร“โ€™Mhaoilmhiaigh:
    This is the best analysis I have seen anywhere, he should be in TV Punditry or better again a professional coaching setup, the attention to detail is excellent on all phases of play shown. I particularly liked the analysis of the first try driving maul and the attention on detail of how Sexton directs play in a way that cannot come true on real time viewing.

Mute Shanahan
    Favourite Shanahan
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:47 PM

@ktsiwot: He was working with TV3 for the world cup, was he not?

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Nov 9th 2016, 1:41 PM

@Shanahan: He was.

Mute smithers
    Favourite smithers
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:19 PM

Jaysus thats some article. You could print that and have a 200 page book

Mute Lee Owens
    Favourite Lee Owens
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:05 PM

Wait until the home leg is over before we tell them how we did itโ€ฆit would take 2wks to read that tho :)

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:01 PM

Good man murrary.

Mute cathal
    Favourite cathal
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:25 PM

This isnโ€™t an article on how Ireland beat New Zealand, Itโ€™s a thesis. Looking forward to reading it but will probably take to until the rematch to get through it all.

Mute Philip Bourke
    Favourite Philip Bourke
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:36 AM

Great analysis. Keep em coming!

Mute Declan Gibney
    Favourite Declan Gibney
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:36 AM

Thatโ€™s the kind of in depth analysis that is missing โ€“ new players, kids, dads etc need more than a refs decision to understand why things happen on the field. Rugby is a far more intricate game than most people realise. Great article, keep it up!

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:19 PM

Yawnโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:06 PM

@Nick Drake: Go to bed.

Mute Andrew Adams
    Favourite Andrew Adams
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:06 PM

Murray analyses all of Irelandโ€™s games with the same level of detail, regardless of the opposition or result

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:29 AM

Outstanding as ever Murray.

Mute Michael Power
    Favourite Michael Power
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:33 AM

I hope thereโ€™s none of the allblacks coaching team reading this.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt

It was a glorified exhibition match. Get over it. Cringeworthy level of analysis for a game of egg chasing.

Mute Andrew Adams
    Favourite Andrew Adams
    Nov 9th 2016, 3:13 PM

You should consider changing your egg supplier. Iโ€™m fairly sure a rugby ball got its oval shape from a pigโ€™s bladder

Mute bazhealy
    Favourite bazhealy
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:40 PM

I wonder could a smiling style of article be written about referees decisions? If you were to take an average weekend and pick out a bunch of decisions from them that people may have found dodgy and break down why it is or isnโ€™t so. Maybe you cud do two or three of both good and bad. Itโ€™d be good reading for those seriously interested in all facets of rugby and could educate a lot of people. The ref can make or break a game at times, I think good analysis in the media could do some good as well.

Mute Dessie Curley
    Favourite Dessie Curley

Dessie alternative read โ€“ we scored more points than them.

Mute Range Rover P38
    Favourite Range Rover P38
    Nov 9th 2016, 4:04 PM

Christmas analysis book next year please Murray.

Mute Phil Quinlan
    Favourite Phil Quinlan
    Nov 9th 2016, 3:19 PM

Simply put, the power of 8โ€ฆ

Mute Riocard ร“ Tiarnaigh
    Favourite Riocard ร“ Tiarnaigh
    Nov 10th 2016, 1:10 AM

Great stuff, Murray, grma!!!

Mute Bill Quigley
    Favourite Bill Quigley
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:23 PM

Love these articles. Dunno how the other hasnโ€™t been snapped up as some teams video analyst. Level of detail here is really superb.

Mute Thomas Pollock
    Favourite Thomas Pollock
    Nov 16th 2016, 10:34 PM

well done . i wish ireland would feel confident they can beat these all blacks they really had no respect for ireland that day.,with the team theyfielded only to bring in big guns at late stage all world except new zewland love to see ireland win again as ab think they have a god giving right to win all games . their times is up like the french rest incl ireland have seen where they are weak . congrats ireland do it again without fear . you have skilled soldiers to beat them again,, but mebe not sat as they will be in a revenge mode i fear . but ireland will have to treat them just like any other world team. ireland are strong and are colnfident now

Mute Jamie O Sullivan
    Favourite Jamie O Sullivan
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:31 AM

I love these breakdowns. Superb work Murray!

Mute Tap Tackle
    Favourite Tap Tackle
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:22 PM

Great work Murray

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.