Advertisement
McShane during his trial with the Crows. Adeleide Crows

McShane reveals job offer 'was a big deciding factor' in turning down AFL move

The 24-year-old says he came “very close” to making the move Down Under.

CATHAL MCSHANE RETURNED to training with Tyrone last night after turning down a contract with AFL side Adelaide Crows following a 10-day trial last month.

The 24-year-old was offered a two-year international rookie B contract by the Crows, but announced his decision on Wednesday night to remain in Ireland and continue his inter-county career.

Speaking to BBC Northern Ireland yesterday, McShane revealed that a job offer by the Keystone Group helped persuade him to stay. 

“This career opportunity given to me by Keystone was a big deciding factor in me staying,” he said.

“We’re in a very fortunate position in Tyrone. Everyone knows I love putting on the red and white jersey of Tyrone. So those two things had a big bearing on me staying here and I’m looking forward to my future ahead.

“It was very close. Obviously, there’s deadlines in terms of decisions.

“It did come down to the wire in terms of the last day I had to make the decision.”

McShane had until Tuesday to make a call on his future and made his final decision on Monday.

“I knew what I wanted to do it was just seeing that through and making sure I made the right decision. I feel I have. I feel I have good opportunities on the field and off the field going forward.”

Asked about his time in Australia, McShane said: “It was something that I really enjoyed. I felt that I did really well when I was out there. The game was a new experience for me.

“The boys out there were really welcoming and the club made me feel very welcome but, again, once I came back to Ireland I knew that I had to weigh up my options and I had to see what was the best for me going forward in my future.”

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte was naturally pleased that his leading forward turned down the Aussie advances.

“I’d been talking to him regularly since he came home. It did look like he could be on his way.

“It was a good enough deal that he had out there. He was happy with it. We couldn’t be stopping him. We just wished he wouldn’t go. We believed we could give him something just as good at home here.

“He’s a serious players with serious ability and I think he will be able to show that (last season) wasn’t a flash in the pan.”

McShane is in the running to feature against Kerry this weekend in their Division 1 clash at Healy Park.

“I’m not too sure,” the Owen Roes clubman said of his potential involvement against the Kingdom.

“Obviously that’s exciting. The games in the league are very important for Tyrone and we want to be picking up enough points as possible.

“I guess getting back to training will be the first thing and we can go from there.”

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Close
37 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute dRod2128
    Favourite dRod2128
    Feb 7th 2020, 10:46 AM

It’s all smoke and mirrors lads. With that particular skin tone I’m surprised he lasted ten days out in Oz.

Mute John Mc Grane
    Favourite John Mc Grane
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:50 AM

Jayz some fierce bitter comments. As a Dub & GAA man I’m delighted to see him stay. Our game needs it’s best players and if he gets a job out of it good for him. Well done Keystone

Mute Ciaran Fleming
    Favourite Ciaran Fleming
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:04 PM

@John Mc Grane: well said

Mute Nick Condon Sen
    Favourite Nick Condon Sen
    Feb 7th 2020, 4:56 PM

@John Mc Grane: Well said and I hope the young man does well for Tyrone and in his new job.

Mute Kevin McMahon
    Favourite Kevin McMahon
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:14 AM

Great news that he is staying. I am a gaelic football fan, I have no interest in seeing him in the AFL. I want to see talented players like McShane here but I don’t want that to happen out of some form of miss guided loyalty.

Fair play to Tyrone GAA they saw they were going to lose one of their main men, their hands were tied as they couldn’t pay him but the they were pro-active in using their influence to create a great opportunity for him at home. Win win for McShane, 2 fantastic opportunities on front of him. I am glad he chose the local one.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Kevin McMahon:

That’s everything that’s wrong with the GAA if you ask me.

Mute Gerard Martin
    Favourite Gerard Martin
    Feb 8th 2020, 8:33 AM

@Nollaig Elliot: what are you on about you muppet
    He made a decision and that’s it
    I heard anyway there was a clause in the offer he got that said if he didn’t make the cut after the first year good luck
    He looks like a thick bullix anyway

Mute Moya Power-kelly
    Favourite Moya Power-kelly
    Feb 7th 2020, 10:34 AM

It’s funny how a job opportunity come up when he gets back did Mickey Heart organise that so he wouldn’t go could the company not held the job open until he came back I wonder how the rest of the team especially whichever player would have been playing in his position and now is back on bench .I think Mickey heart has a lot to answer making Mcshane so guilty that gave up a chance of a life time a number of lads and lassie would give their right arm for that chance and Mcshane turns it down because of hearts rant last week. It’s sad to see a manager can have that much influence on a player in stay of encouraging him to spread his wings and wish him all the best. If Tyrone don’t do well in the all Ireland championship he’s going to regret that decision not have gone to Australia

Mute Gary Donlan
    Favourite Gary Donlan
    Feb 7th 2020, 10:42 AM

@Moya Power-kelly: There’s a helluva lot of speculation there. You can’t know his thoughts or his relationship with MH. Ridiculous

Mute Moya Power-kelly
    Favourite Moya Power-kelly
    Feb 7th 2020, 10:46 AM

@Gary Donlan: if you go on Twitter you will see a comment from a Aussie rule player about it

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:01 AM

@Moya Power-kelly: moya give it a rest will you. You have been on every article slating Mickey HARTE for his involvement in mcshane staying. What do you want him to do drive him to the airport and pack his bags for him? The lad got offered a good job alongside the opportunity to stay at home and play for Tyrone. He could have went over there and never made it for all you know. Any excuse for the likes of clueless people like you who haven’t a notion what they are talking about to have a go at Mickey harte

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:08 PM

@Moya Power-kelly:

Not necessarily. I know of a lad through my step sisters husband, who turned down numerous clubs in Melbourne cause he only played footy to play with his mates and his aul lad owned an electrical contracting business that he wanted to eventually carry on in the family. Maybe it’s not everyone’s cup of tea.

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Moya Power-kelly: by the way if your gonna slag Mickey harte at least get the man’s name right

Mute Nick Condon Sen
    Favourite Nick Condon Sen
    Feb 7th 2020, 4:57 PM

@Moya Power-kelly: Oh get over yourself.

Mute Thomas Bohan
    Favourite Thomas Bohan
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:16 PM

Tyrone the Saracens of GAA

Mute Oliver Curley
    Favourite Oliver Curley
    Feb 7th 2020, 3:29 PM

@Thomas Bohan: ah jeez wept what an absurd comparison

Mute Fr Romeo sensini.
    Favourite Fr Romeo sensini.
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:19 AM

I’m glad to see him back but that’s a photo that could have been done without.a bit like a transfer deadline day shot minus the countys colours.

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 10:10 AM

You state that he’s in the running to face Kerry when in the next sentence he’s just said he’s not too sure. Christ almighty like

Mute John O’Farrell
    Favourite John O’Farrell
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:35 AM

@Mel Roberts: He doesn’t pick the team

Mute Michael Oats
    Favourite Michael Oats
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:37 AM

@Mel Roberts: there’s also conversations about over the odds payment for a job, a car and a site for a house thrown into the mixer too. “Amateur organisation” though…….

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Chubby Cox
    Favourite Chubby Cox
    Feb 7th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Mel Roberts: must be hard being so angry all the time.

Mute Henry Toye
    Favourite Henry Toye
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:12 PM

@Michael Oats:
    I don’t think there’s any problem with anyone using their profile to get a better job. Who instigated it is irrelevant. Good luck to both him and Tyrone. I hate to see any player leaving for Aussie rules.

Mute TL55
    Favourite TL55
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:22 PM

@Michael Oats: Nothing new there. Amateur sports stars have been taking advantage of their “stardom” to get better jobs for as long as I can remember. Good luck to them. I say they deserve it for the entertainment they give us.

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 1:30 PM

@John O’Farrell: Kevin must do does he as cathal effectively ruled himself out

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 1:32 PM

@Michael Oats: suppose now that cathal got himself a job outta this that’s a conversation we need to bring up. We can just sweep the 18 million hand out Dublin got under the carpet though

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Feb 7th 2020, 1:44 PM

@Mel Roberts: you’re an almighty narrow minded little man

Mute Chubby Cox
    Favourite Chubby Cox
    Feb 7th 2020, 1:52 PM

@my name: and very angry…. he should really get that looked about.

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 2:02 PM

@Chubby Cox: nothing angry about me pal. Tyrones best player committed to staying. Off work for the weekend. Out for feed of pints with the boys tomorrow and watch the rugby, life is good my friend

Mute Chubby Cox
    Favourite Chubby Cox
    Feb 7th 2020, 2:09 PM

@Mel Roberts: you could fool alot of people then….. Just like Tyrone football and Mickey Harte. Pal.

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 2:12 PM

@Chubby Cox: and how exactly are Mickey harte and Tyrone football fooling people? The real issue you have with Tyrone stems from an imaginary line that we are in the other side of just like every other salty Mexican from South of it

Mute Chubby Cox
    Favourite Chubby Cox
    Feb 7th 2020, 2:14 PM

@Mel Roberts: and this is yu not angry???

Mute Chubby Cox
    Favourite Chubby Cox
    Feb 7th 2020, 2:16 PM

@Mel Roberts: also how do you know which side of your “Imaginary Line” I am on?

Mute Mel Roberts
    Favourite Mel Roberts
    Feb 7th 2020, 2:20 PM

@Chubby Cox: That’s just me pointing out a fact pal. Nothing angry about it. Can tell it’s exactly what side your on from your salty comment on mh and Tyrone

Mute Oliver Curley
    Favourite Oliver Curley
    Feb 7th 2020, 3:26 PM

@Henry Toye: you are correct there. In rugby it was always the case for the best players in the amature days. These guys put in huge time and effort so we can enjoy watching their skills.

Mute John O’Farrell
    Favourite John O’Farrell
    Feb 7th 2020, 3:51 PM

@Mel Roberts: saying he isn’t too sure hardly counts as ruling himself out.

Mute Allen Durkin
    Favourite Allen Durkin
    Feb 7th 2020, 8:50 PM

Sicken your backside. He was never going to Oz. Hell of a player. Glad to see him stay, our game needs an old-school full forward and he is that. Win his own ball and kick his own score. No need to have Micky Harte in the pic. Can the lad not accept a job without Harte floating around looking his cut. Man does nothing for free.

Mute Niall McNamara
    Favourite Niall McNamara
    Feb 7th 2020, 8:00 PM

They make great lintels though.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel