Hello, and welcome to today’s liveblog.
As always, we’d love to hear your thoughts on the game. E-mail aaron@the42.ie, tweet @the42_ie, post a message to our Facebook wall, or leave a comment below.
You may need to refresh the page for YouTube videos and other elements to display correctly.
Kick off is at 3.00pm.
📋The Reds to face @OfficialBHAFC... pic.twitter.com/LNtBdeAn20
— Liverpool FC (@LFC) December 2, 2017
Here's how #BHAFC line up for today's @premierleague fixture against @LFC at the Amex. 🔵⚪️⚽️ #BHALIV pic.twitter.com/Q1jLWRD4Yn
— BHAFC ⚽️ (@OfficialBHAFC) December 2, 2017
So, today’s teams will look like this:
Brighton: Ryan, Saltor, Duffy, Dunk, Bong, Knockaert, Stephens, Propper, Brown, Gross, Murray.
Subs: Kayal, Hemed, Goldson, Izquierdo, March, Schelotto, Krul.
Liverpool: Mignolet, Alexander-Arnold, Can, Lovren, Robertson, Milner, Henderson, Wijnaldum, Salah, Firmino, Coutinho.
Subs: Karius, Sturridge, Grujic, Klavan, Mane, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Solanke.
Liverpool have arrived at the Anex as kick-off looms.
💬 "We're well aware of the attacking threats they possess and know we'll have to be at our best."
Chris Hughton on #BHALIV today.
👉🏻 https://t.co/OF8Gp976pJ#BHAFC 🔵⚪️ pic.twitter.com/dmGQSS0N8H
Liverpool undetake their second away trip in the space of four days this afternoon following their impressive 3-0 win against Stoke on Wednesday night, which featured two more goals for the in-form Mohamed Salah who has 12 Premier League goals to his name already this season.
Brighton, meanwhile, had to settle for a point at home to Crystal Palace on Tuesday. Chris Hughton’s side have suffered just one defeat at home this season — falling to league leaders Manchester City.
He will be aiming to continue that solid home form again this evening, with Ireland centre back Shane Duffy leading the line from the back. Kick-off is just under half an hour away.
Kick-off at the Amex is just 15 minutes away! @MatyRyan heads for the changing room. #BHALIV ⚽🔵⚪ pic.twitter.com/hqyZ7mb69d
Kick-off: We’re underway…
Decent early spell for both sides. Liverpool are setting up with a back three which features Emre Can, Dejan Lovren and Georginio Wijnaldum which may raise a few eyebrows this afternoon.
A first shot on target for Liverpool as Mohamed Salah peels away from his marker to chase a loose ball bobbling out of play. He reaches it just before it goes out for a goal kick and manages to force a corner kick at the front post.
The corner comes to nothing and is headed well over the crossbar. Jurgen Klopp’s side are enjoying a decent spell of possession with that aforementioned back three pushed all the way up to the halfway line pressuring Brighton into mistakes higher up the pitch.
Liverpool really toying with Brighton at the moment, strumming passes left and right with ease throughout midfield, but at the same time with little end product. They seem to be just warming up at the minute with the hosts happy to let them play keep-ball.
Philippe Coutinho attempts to thread a neat through ball in but a blue and white body clamps down on the Brazilian. Brighton are very organised at the minute and are more than happy to sit 11 men behind the ball in the hope of a swift counter.
Both sides quite lackadaisy in these opening 15 minutes.
Chance! Ooof the game kicks into life all of a sudden. The cross in from Brown is missed by every single man clad in red and the ball falls on a plate to Murray four yards out.
The striker just manages to scuff his lines and drives the ball curling backwards over the top of the crossbar.
A good move there from Brighton — Liverpool looked a bit shaken but they survive.
Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp pictured at the Amex Stadium.
That was a brilliant piece of play from Brighton there.
It started with a lovely turn from Brown on half-way before he fed the ball down the right wing to Anthony Knockaert who sent Wijnaldum to the ground with some lovely spins and twists.
His cross just outside the box presented a decent final delivery, however Dejan Lovren rose highest to head the danger clear.
GOAL! BRIGHTON 0-1 LIVERPOOL (CAN 30)
EMREEEEEEEEE CAN! pic.twitter.com/dp5IVb2gJg
Liverpool finally break the deadlock. It’s a routine corner into the box and Emre Can rises highest to beat Shane Duffy to the ball. It’s a powerful header which gives goalkeeper Ryan no chance whatsoever.
GOAL! BRIGHTON 0-2 LIVERPOOL (FIRMINO 32)
FIRMINOOOOOOOOOOOO! pic.twitter.com/2Qflv2HuZG
Goooodness me it’s 2-0. Liverpool have managed a second just 78 seconds after taking the lead. Mohamed Salah is instrumental as he finds a pocket of space to expose behind the Brighton midfield.
Liverpool had three in attack, with Salah sweeping the ball to his left where Philippe Coutinho provided the cross and Roberto Firmino the finish at the back post. It’s just lovely, lovely football from the visitors.
Liverpool really dominating proceedings now as Brighton continue to have the life sucked out of them. They started so promisingly — solidified at the back and creating chances at the other end when presented — however those two goals in quick succession have been a complete and utter sucker punch. Well, two sucker punches actually.
A chance for a third there for Mohamed Salah just before we reach the break, however the pass spun his way was just out of reach — Dale Stephens shepherd the ball away from danger well and his side keep the damage at two.
HALF-TIME: BRIGHTON 0-2 LIVERPOOL
HT: Two quick-fire goals from the visitors put Albion behind at the break. Can headed home from close range and Firmino added a second as the Reds broke at speed. #BHAFC 0 #LFC 2 #BHALIV pic.twitter.com/ffQTETS3qD
GOAL! BRIGHTON 0-3 LIVERPOOL (FIRMINO 48)
BOBBYYYYYYYYYYYY!!! pic.twitter.com/P0efiUhAwM
Liverpool are tearing Brighton apart but it could have been so differently.
The visitors almost looked like grabbing one back and halving the deficit, however Glenn Murray’s shot from point blank range was brilliantly saved by Simon Mignolet.
Liverpool break at the other end via Mohamed Salah and, after twisting and turning his maker, he sets up Roberto Firmino who slots the ball past Ryan to make it 3-0.
GOAL! BRIGHTON 1-3 LIVERPOOL (MURRAY 51)
51: GOOAALL!! Murray finds the top corner from the spot. #BHAFC 1 #LFC 3 #BHALIV pic.twitter.com/fFKW0XUHMy
And all of a sudden Brighton do have one back. It’s two goals in the space of three minutes as the hosts earn a penalty for some pushing and shoving inside the box from Jordan Henderson, with Glenn Murray cooly slotting the spot-kick past Mignolet.
The deficit still stands at two, but Chris Hughton’s side may have found a way back into this game.
The game finally has a chance to breath following a manic opening seven or eight minutes. Liverpool looked to have wrapped it up after Murray squandered the chance to half the deficit, but his penalty has given his side hope.
Even still trailing by two, the atmosphere inside the Amex would have you believe it’s still all to play for with just over half an hour remaining.
Liverpool receive a free-kick in a dangerous position following a rash challenge from 37-year-old Bruno, however Philippe Coutinho slices a horrible effort over the top of the crossbar.
Another chance comes and goes for Klopp’s charges to put this game beyond doubt.
It’s another quick break along the left, with Mohamed Salah the man found free inside the box. He takes one touch to compose himself and releases a low half-volley.
But the effort is directed right at goalkeeper Ryan who collects it with relative ease. Following a brilliant performance where it seemed he simply could not put a foot wrong, that shot definitively proves that Salah is human after all.
Star performers: Roberto Firmino and Mohamed Salah celebrate Liverpool’s third goal.
Chance! Another chance goes begging for Glenn Murray. Shane Duffy leaps high to knock the ball down for the striker inside the box, but Murray scuffs his volley and it bounces marginally wide of the goal. On another day he would have had a hat-trick.
Both sides emptying their benches as the game edges slowly towards its conclusion. Brighton showed a bit of fight after Murray pulled one back but Liverpool look to have wrapped up another three points here.
The game has slowed down considerably as the crowd draws eerily quiet.
Chance! Brighton erupt out of no-where to force another much-needed stop from a wall of red bodies. Izquierdo played a neat one-two with Gross before seeing his shot deflected back out.
Had that gone in, it would have made the final five minutes plus stoppage time very, very interesting but Liverpool maintain their two goal cushion.
GOAL! BRIGHTON 1-4 LIVERPOOL (COUTINHO 87)
FREE-KICK UNDER THE WALL!
VERY, VERY CHEEKY! pic.twitter.com/myaLrB7wIg
That is so cheeky from Philippe Coutinho. Just like Ronaldinho against Werder Bremen all those years ago he sticks a free-kick under the wall and makes it 4-1. Sublime.
GOAL! BRIGHTON 1-5 LIVERPOOL (DUNK OWN GOAL 89)
This is turning into a rout late on for the visitors. Once again Coutinho is instrumental as he meanders his way through the Brighton defence before chipping an effort on goal which is unfortunately heading into his own net by Lewis Dunk to complete his side’s humiliation. Game, set and match.
FULL-TIME: BRIGHTON 1-5 LIVERPOOL
FULL-TIME Brighton 1-5 Liverpool
— Premier League (@premierleague) December 2, 2017
Five-star performance from Jurgen Klopp's men as Firmino shines with two goals#BHALIV pic.twitter.com/uUAcTMemcA
The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):
Maybe both governments should fund hospitals adequately instead of looking for charity.
Ah no Ciaran, there are much more important things than hospitals to be spending money on, such as covering bankers gambling debts.
come on kenny what about this banking inquiry or are you going under the bed as well.
how can anyone red thumb that,its true its what the government did!
They invested and lost and still get paid out,wtf
Yes agree! What about the banking inquiry? Only an idea to distract fro the fact that nothing is going to happen the bankers.
Good man, Ciaran. Typical glib, populist throwaway comment. I’ll revoke that if you can explain where the money will come from. Ah, yes….that old inconvenient chestnut…
And spare me any unrealistic rubbish in answering that, by the way.
Only 13 billion per annum into the health budget. Double it FFS
I’m with you Kevin… now all we need is a fake moustache, a change of clothes and some foreign currency.
If we win do we get to keep the North
because then I don’t want us to win
No KKjsjsksk – it will be match to the death…the rules are: there are no rules.
Another spectacular top of the head idea just like the idea to hold a referendum to abolish the Senate, which cost us an estimated €15 million. Mercifully this ‘idea’ is one he cant control and it will drift into oblivion where it deserves to be, not many down this way want to listen to the billy boy songs about wading through fenian blood.
@Kevin
Era your only jealous as you never got as many green thumbs as he did!
We have a team for the island of Ireland. The Republic and it’s fans don’t discriminate against anyone be that from the north or south but if you go to a Northern Irish match you get nothing but sectarian chants from the majority of Loyalist supporters.
Complete ignorant bull. I’m from cork but travelled with belfast fans to an NI away game.there was no sectarianism. If anyone appeared wearing a rangers jersey they were booed. One guy out of two thousand tried singing the sash, he was drowned out hy the rest singing we are not sectarian. Fantastic weekend.
Absolutely great idea, not against England though, that’s looking for trouble.
What about Brazil like they did in the 70′s (they played that game as Shamrock Rovers)
Maybe he should ask Roy Keane first !
I agree its about time that nonviable state in the northern part of this country stopped spitting their dummy out and rejoin their Irish brethren and compete politically, socially, culturally and sportingly with the rest of the world and untie themselves from John Bulls bloody apron. *Ahem* In other words Go Team Ireland.
At least if you play England, the anthem issue doesn’t arise and we won’t end up standing up for Ireland’s call.
We could all stand for Fairytale of New York sung by Ronan Keating instead.
And the bellsh were ringin ou, for Chrishmash day!.
Oh jeshush chrisht no….
Emmmm Enda, we already have an all Ireland football team, anyone born in the 6 counties are totally allowed play for Ireland!!!
No Paul,
we have a Republic of Ireland team and a Northern Ireland team.
What he is talking about is a Ireland Team, like Rugby, Hockey, Golf etc.
*an Ireland
Is Donegal in Northern Ireland?
Its in the North of Ireland which is a geographic area but not in Northern Ireland which is a country(or something, I’m sure there’ll be loads who disagree and loads who agree)
Go Home Paul Mc you’re drunk.
Brain if you are on holidays aboard, and one of the local asks you where you are from, do you respond by saying the Republic of Ireland?? Because I don’t know anyone that does, as far as I’m concerned I am from Ireland !!!
lordy lordy back to commonwealth days whatho…….gobsh*tes how much ass will they kiss…Sh*tter gets to say londonDerry and smile at the damn natives
@Brian – a simpler way would be that Donegal is part of the ancient province of Ulster as is the six counties (Antrim, Armagh, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry, Down) in ‘Bondage’ along with Cavan and Monaghan. The entity known as ‘Northern Ireland’ (six counties) is subjugated under the Iron will of the ancient and evil British Empire… who by means of not being very nice and being particularly impolite have suppressed the people there for centuries. The time has come where the set-upon population will rise up and reclaim their rightful hinterland – hurrah – and in the meantime the Irish government (the 26 county peasant woodsmen) have set about a plan whereby they shall ask the Queens Shilling Merchants to politely leave and if they don’t then they shall call security and it will be super-embarassing to be asked to leave when everyone else is looking..
I hope this clarifies things.
That was a simpler way of saying it!?
I had an American colleague recently ask me if it was possible to drive to Northern Ireland from Dublin or whether you had to get a flight. In retrospect, I should have said that while Ireland is an archipelago and certain parts cannot, indeed, be accessed by terrestrial means other than with marine assistance, the majority is constituted by the island of Ireland and is fully traversable overland, and indeed that the reason for the designation “Northern” is to signify that it is a discreet albeit not readily discernible area of the broader main island, and as such that vehicular transport was not only possible, but was indicated as the most sensible methodology in nearly all circumstances, with arterial routes now fully integrated as a result of co-operation across the properly named “border”.
All I actually managed to say was “Whuf?”
No such country as Northern Ireland.
That is because the name of the country is Ireland, not the Republic of Ireland. The title the Republic of Ireland is only used in football.
So you’re saying nowadays Donegal is deemed part of Connacht, that must piss them offno end…
Paul, your proving my point about there not being an Ireland team. When I’m on holidays I and people ask where I’ m from and I say Ireland, people say ah like Brian O Driscoll, because he plays for Ireland. They don’t say ah like Robbie keane because they associate him with a country called the republic if Ireland. lThe two teams are called Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland , so by your own omission there’s no team called ireland.
Its people like you why there will never be a united Ireland team, you just antagonise the Ulster Scots , and like wise those Ulster Scots delinquents hooligans antagonise you.
Stick to messing up politics
It would have to be only 31 counties …Everyone knows what happens once Enda Kennys Mayo hear the word All-Ireland…..
Zing
the last thing we need are are a bunch of NI skangers causing mayhem around Dublin on a regular basis. Its bad enough having to listen to the occasional air of “No Surrender…” from drunken Ulster Rugby fans near the Aviva and they are supposed to be the educated ones.
True, they thought they were clever singing their “No Surrender” bollocks in the Aviva when N.Ireland played Scotland (or Wales) weren’t so brave when they played us. Muppets.
That’s the biggest load of bollix I’ve ever read Rugby dose not tolerate sectarian shit only soccer dose that.
WTF. He actually can come up with great ideas.
Just one a week Enda, even that please.
Now if he could only come up with good ideas on how to run the country.
You mean he was told to say that surely ??!
Lock him in a room with a subbuteo set and let him play fantasy manager…cant make a bigger hames of it than he did as fantasy taoiseach!
Cant even look at him without thinking the classic
“Small…Faraway”
Why just soccer…should be GAA too….bet you we’d win sometimes…
GAA is already 32 county, and always was. Where have you been hiding John???
The stupidity of Kenny is astounding. He is such a brainless fool.
Politicians should stay out of sport
generally i agree, but like at what Morgan Freeman ;) accomplished with the South Africian Rugby team
A populist bollocks and a clueless one at that. Pushing out his chest and saying nothing of note in a authoritative voice does not a statesman make. He can have all the time magazine covers he wants but he is still a fraud.. and I’m talking fraud on a Sven goran ericksson scale here
don’t we already give Darron Gibson a game, is that not enough?
Yes Enda you are a Bad Catholic !
Does that make you a good protestant ?
Only joking Enda , not a bad idea until the game is played in Belfast, then we’ll see the crack ….. try telling Queen Elizabeth Saxe Coburg that if her intention to frac in Fermanagh poisons the Shannon then all English debt held by the British in this Country will be null and void !
Fracing is illegal in France ….because that’s what civilised countries do !
What in the name of God does tracking in Fermanagh have to do with ROI and NI combining a football team for charity?
*fracking*
dermot, please lay off the drugs when posting.
Fracking hell Dermot, You’ve obviously been drinking some kind of poisoned water yourself there. What has that rant got to do with this article?
it an eccumenical matter as is the ground water !
sorry folks but this is the best article to post this point because its a political flag to test our attitudes to the North so politicians will read this issue which is going to be the underlying (excuse the pun) over the next few years ….
soccer , sport etc. is the opiate of the masses , when the romans or the medici got into trouble they threw a big party with games and wine for the plebs to distract therm from the real issues !
this is no different same political feudal clap trap coming from the same families in Europe for years !
being pedantic here folks …. according to an engineer who was one of the first guys I saw on R.T.E. talking about “fracking” he intonated that fracing is the correct spelling as in; Rock frac-turing ….
no drugs today Pat the chemist in town was closed ; how did you know I had a cold ?
I cannot believe the stupidity of our leader. My last post was deleted twice so there is some class of censorship going on here, i do not believe in profanity in public places so it cannot have been that. I merely suggested how ashamed I am to be associated with this man Kenny. I also suggested there might be a golf tournament to raise money to help people pay their property tax and a marathon to raise funds for those in mortgage arrears. FG can put this stupid man under wraps when there is need for a debate about important issues, what a pity we cannot do the same when it comes to his stupid ideas. I know how to fund the children’s hospital; make people pay taxes on everything; Oh wait we do and the bankers and developers got it all.
We had an all-Ireland soccer team until FIFA stuck its nose in. Actually, this being Ireland, we had two. They spent most of their energy denouncing each other, like the Rome and Avignon Popes in the middle ages.
It was not FIFA’s fault. The Republic broke away from the IFA, All Ireland governing body, in 1950.
FIFA could have left our two all-Ireland associations alone. Given some time, we may even have managed a third.
Patrick
Slightly incorrect on the date of 1950 and it not being FIFA’s fault.
Between 1884 and 1920-24 football on the island of Ireland was covered by one association the IFA. However following partition in 1920 the FAI was formed and became affiliated to FIFA, unlike the IFA which was not affiliated so FIFA until 1950. As the IFA were not affiliated to FIFA until 1950 this therefore allowed for “Dual Players”, players could therefore play for both IFA and FAI teams.
In 1950 both the IFA & FAI entered teams into the World Cup. During that qualification campaign 4 players played for both IFA & FAI teams. So in 1953 FIFA ended the “Dual Players” status by restricting player’s eligibility to play for a national team based on which side of the political border they were born.
Its Big Noses fault he started it all.
@ Carcu
Also incorrect. The IFA, having been founded in 1880, became an affiliate member of FIFA in 1911.
Plus how is FIFA to blame for two teams? Surely it goes back to the formation of the FAI? FIFA had to make a ruling on “Dual Players” as numerous players were representing both teams but this was long after the FAI had been formed.
Had the FAI not broken away I’d guess football would still be governed on an all-island basis like rugby and cricket.
And The anthem and flag farce of rugby would claim another victim.
No thanks , I live in the real world. Two countries means two teams.
You think Northern Ireland is a country, it has six counties, even the English call it a Provence at best……….
Won’t somebody think of the Orangemen?
This would be a start. It’s the most useful thing I have ever heard Kenny suggest. Hope to see it happen sooner rather than later. We are a little island with two soccer clubs , doesn’t make sense. Come on FAI move over and share.
Brendan it won’t happen. Which league would you propose give up their European spots. 1 national team = 1 league = 1/2 the European club spots. Neither association will agree to that.
Two Soccer clubs?
Declan “It always seems impossible until its done “
I think there is more than two soccer clubs on this island.
Ok let two national soccer teams on the one island. Is that better.
There’s three on the island next door…
I’d like too see an all Ireland soccer team but I’m dubious about it when I see the supporters at the northern Ireland games. Rarely see any of them actually supporting their team rather than using it as a sectarian or unionist rally..
@Brendan isn’t there something more important you should be doing than trying to gain populist favour?
Brendan it’s a stupid idea. Pointless. Who in their right mind would risk injury playing in it. Clubs will never release players unless you propose it’s an amateur game. Then what’s the point.
Go away, you obviously have no idea what you are talking about.
Get back to work Kenny ya sap……talking sh1%e again.
Yeah but the fans would kick the living s%!t of of each other. Bit like asking Celtic and Ranger fans to come together in harmony. Good luck with that.
Why not simplify everything and have an all ireland team v a uk team for charity. Every 2 years. Losing team gets enda kenny to run country for 4 years. To make it interesting..
An all-Ireland team makes sense for both sides of the border. If home matches are rotated through every province, and both traditions are respected, I don’t see why people would reject the idea.
Your asking uneducated hooligans from both sides of the border to use common sense…. Look what happened when they came down to march in Dublin the riots that happened.
I’d love a 32 county team but its too political. We’d have that awful Ireland’s call for an anthem and then that stupid green flag with the 4 provinces. The tri-colour is the only flag for a 32 county team that welcomes any creed colour or faith. After all it represents peace between nationalists and unionists. Northern Ireland football is destroyed because of these hooligans that represent it. I think genuine football fans from the north would be happy to team up with us and be a united football team that discriminates against no one.
Good comment, but you should have typed it the way Brian would say it, that would be funny!
An all ireland soccer team would never work.i cant see staunch northern fans travelling down to dublin to support ireland and i cant see southerners heading up to windsor park waving a tri colour and not getting abuse from the locals up there.i’ve been to a few matches in the north and it’s not a very pleasant experience
Like it or not, this is politics aswell. What harm is he doing? I for one am please to see the Taoiseach making an effort to propose something which would help cross border relations. Makes a change from listening to droning on about the Troika, corporate tax rates etc
Ah yes, a nice little distraction to take our minds off the real issues we face. A 32 county soccer team to play England in friendlies to raise cash for hospitals. Is the man drunk?
Is he trying to stir up some old rivalry to detract from the poor politics
I could see this becoming a viable option in the future. With such a small population it makes no sense for there to be two football leagues on this island. It would benefit clubs from both leagues if they were to merge to form a highly competitive league system in Ireland.
From there it is only a small jump to having an all Ireland international team. Obviously at the start there would have to be rules in place to ensure that there is a fair representation of both states in the squad but after a few years that would take care of itself. As with the rugby team/players those involved would have to be sensitive to the situation and do their best to not antagonize the situation (James McClean would need this drummed into him).
Obviously this would mean a change in the anthems played (unless we play both?) and the flags that the team plays under but again the IRFU get around that well with the Four Provinces flag and Ireland’s Call. We people would need to be aware of is that this would be a NEW Ireland team, not a case of Northern Ireland joining the Republic of Ireland team or vise versa.
The irish football team should play under the irish flag and anthem regardless. I would prefer to see it remained split than to not have our flag and anthem represent our national team to pander the unionists
That is fair enough, but this would be a team comprised of two separate states and therefore we would need a different flag and anthem or use both which would mean God Save the Queen being played regularly in the Aviva and the St. Georges Cross with the Red Hand flying over the stadium.
You do realise that if we ever have a united Ireland the flag and national anthem to name two will have to be changed yes?
I completely disagree. It’s the Irish national theme and therefore should only play the Irish national anthems and under the Irish flag. People who don’t consider them selfs Irish probably wouldn’t support the
Team anyway
But this would be an all island team. It would be representing two separate states Ireland and Northern Ireland therefore it would have to have a different flag and anthem.
People in Northern Ireland consider themselves as being Irish but don’t see the our tricolour as their flag. The tricolour stands for peace between nationalists and unionists but the fact that it is our flag means that it cannot be used to represent the whole island. The reason people in Northern Ireland don’t want to combine with Ireland is because they fear that they will be marginalised and ignored. It is only by compromise that the island will ever be united, and that is compromise on both sides. Those of us in Ireland must realise that any potential all island team (and hopefully in the future an all island state) will not be a case of Northern Ireland giving up and joining the Republic. It will be a case of two states merging to form one.
Could this man do what he is supposed to like his five point plan and all the lies and promises he told to get into power . Leave the sport to the professionals and get some jobs for our unemployed get the health system sorted out and stop talking boll**
He’s also looking for Mayo to team up with Dublin next year so that they have some kind of chance of bringing Sam west of the Shannon .
Why? Who from norn ireland would you put in team.
Jonny Evans and Chris Brunt for two anyway. Roy Carroll and Chris Baird defo squad players, with lots of Premier League experience.
Are you having a laugh gavin . Jonny evans maybe squad player thats a big maybe.
He’d playing regularly for Man Utd, not so much this season with injury, but who would you have ahead of him? Darren O’Dea?
Kyle Lafferty, he is a brilliant striker and one of my favourite players of all time.
Dear Enda Kenny, mind your own business and get back to running the country… on second thoughts…
And did he ask Mick McCarthy for a comment on it……. ;)
Yeah, Mick refused to answer and just laughed..
He got a laugh and and a “what the f**k does that have to do with me”
Just goes to show the heavy reliance our gov has on charity to fund our health system when our Taoiseach proposes this. I suppose it will leave a bit extra cash to give to his corporate cronies and the banks. Im surprised he didn’t offer to play on the right wing while he was at it.
Has he nothing else to be doing ???
No.
He means England v West Briton
West Brits ?? Dublin people are included already
Dead right, Irish people would die for their eng/scottish clubs, yet they have the audacity to slag the eng team off!
paradoxical, bar-stool, band wagoners!
I agree Pete…”I love arsenal but hate England”
Oh hear we go, the West Brit thing again, there’s always one!
In fairness Ed, going by your avatar you’re a hypocrite!
aside from the FAI badge, you’ve 3 British badges!
London irish
leeds
glasgow celtic.
Why not any Irish clubs/teams?
Oh my. . .I think the irony here had actually given me a toothache
Ed I think you’ve just been PWNED
Ah come on. Is he off his head completely. Will never happen and majority of people don’t want it to happen. Close the bar in The Dáil!
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. Come back Billy feckin Bingham – all is forgiven!!
I don’t know whether to laugh or cry!
Well I’d go with crying- imagine having to listen to commentary with George Hamilton and Jackie Fullerton = bleeding ears!
How about an all British Isles team…….OOPS.
In the 70s a United Ireland team played Brazil. However the team had to change its name to Shamrock Rovers because the IFA wouldn’t support the fixture. I doubt if things have changed in 40 years and Id imagine the IFA, fearing that such a team would lead to calls for a permanent All-Ireland, would adapt the same attitude.
you were spot on there Stephen, IFA have rejected the idea!!
Funniest suggestion I’ve read in ages. Half a team will sing Aran na bhfiann, One and a half teams will sing God Save the Queen and hilarity will ensue when the whistle blows.
there are more important things in f;cked up country than a feckin football game Kenny is such an ass hole
On another unrelated topic – How’s things in Scotland?
Just on BBC Norn Iron news that the IFA have said never or something to that effect. It’s not the idea that’s the problem, it’s that the idea was proposed by the Taoiseach. Come out of the trenches IFA and join the 21st century.
What makes Kenny think the English would want to play Ireland United in the first place? Has anyone asked the English FA? This ‘mad idea’ from chairman Enda along with some of the posts on here have ‘non football, f***** clueless’ written all over them or even worse a ‘political agenda’ (see shinners posts). Maybe he means a veterans game or something. I can’t see the English FA rushing to want to play either one of the associations on the island of Ireland anytime soon, united or solo. Maybe he mean’t well but he really should stick to doing bad politics and leave the football to the people who know about these things.
Will we leave it to you Ed ? Not by the hair of our shinny shin shin bahhhaaaa :)
Aside from the fact that they’ve hardly a player that would get anywhere near our first 11, they’re also one of our greatest rivals. It’s like getting United and City to join up to play Liverpool. Utterly pointless.
Jonny Evans, Chris Brunt, Steven Davis, Aaron Hughes, Gareth McAuley, and Alex Bruce are all playing for Premier League teams. Plus you have Kyle Lafferty at Palermo. I’d imagine a few of them have a good shot at replacing the likes of Darren O’Dee, Paul McShane, Connor Sammon, Keith Andrews, Keith Fathy and the likes who have represented Ireland in the last year or so wouldn’t you?
Well I’ll be damned. That is actually a good idea.
Maybe he should have to play himself and get the s— kicked out of him .
I have the greatest memories of attending an All Ireland selection play Brazil as a kid in 1973, Or there abouts. What an occasion and atmosphere. Players like Pat Jennings, Derek Dougan, Johnny Giles and Don Givens on the one side. Brazil prevailed 4-3 but it was a fantastic match without any political issues or chanting.
An all Ireland team could work just as the Rugby and Hockey teams work. Once they start showing signs of success the vocal minority of Linfield supporters would shut up or disappear..
Couldn’t see Stokes passing the ball to Kyle Lafferty or vice versa .
Good idea, although, apart from Johnny Evans what other Northern Ireland player would make it into the starting 11??
Tell the Nordies they can have James McClean, mark Wilson and Darren Gibson back for the day of the game.
England A team v England B team
Maybe Enda should run for office up north and do us all a favor,
How much would we save
I see the F G red thumb army all 15 of them out on force today to support their hero !!
Mr Kenny if you cannot run what you were elected to run” The Country” why go into talking about something you know nothing about. That being sport
Could this be classified as a same sex marriage?
Actually not a bad idea if they borrow Shamrock Rover shirts again and play a decent team, like Germany, Brazil or Liverpool.
We’re shit but there even worse. Apart from Johnny Evans as a squad player there’s not one player worth talking about that’s not down here already .
They need to pull funding for both the fai and ifa. Merge them and their senior leagues and then u have one team. But getting associations to do it is like getting turkeys voting for Christmas.
Both leagues are dying a death but the IFA would rather this than merge with the FAI. Would love it to happen, but the propensity for sectarianism with that Windsor Park lot will never fade.
Zinedine Zidane was the greatest footballer ever !
If Enda Kenny goes to Belfast and socialise with Lingfield supporter’s, then he’s maybe worthy of getting involved in Irish soccer.
“Lingfield supporter’s” is that a new team you just made up?
Yeah Ed just made it up, good wee chap :D
Only if we use enda as the ball
I’m sure he means the republic with johnny Evans
who do you take off ?
He’ll have to wait for Richie Dunne to retire
How many players currently playing for the north would make it into all Ireland squad?
Not many me thinks.
Great idea Enda. Lets go with a similar strip to that of the Irish rugby team with a wee blue or red flash on it to keep everyone happy, and stick with the same Rugby anthem.
If it works in rugby it’s worth a try every 2 years for the sake of charity.
So yet again the rest of the UK support NI.
The proposal is an English team to play an all Ireland team in a charity match with proceeds going to children’s hospitals in Eire and NI.
I thought the original plan was children’s hospitals in Dublin and London.
We are already a laughing stock we really don’t want the whole world pis ding their pants at the same time, the world would flood! Please someone put a gag on that puppet,
If only Enda had of stayed the primary school teacher in Mayo….. Just like Enda and his all Ireland football squad, we can all dream.
Would be like asking Celtic and Rangers to unite and form one team never ever happen in a million years
Phil coulters Irelands call should be the anthem for the all ireland soccer team exactly what it is now for our irish rugby team
I have been thinking about this idea and I think I have a solution. Let’s have a sponsored TD backside kicking event. Every man woman and child pays € 10 each to kick every TD in the bum. those too old, young or infirm can nominate somebody to do it on their behalf. By my figures 166 TD’s x 10 x 4.5 million would raise € 7470 million. We could build a few children’s hospitals and get ourselves out of austerity to boot if you pardon the pun.
Stand down Kenny you fool the country is on its knees and your fiddling while rome burns!
Burrrrrrp
Another political football, PR stunt!