Advertisement
Brendan Devenney is up in arms after a Donegal minor player was allegedly sledged last weekend Morgan Treacy/INPHO

'Are we going to allow this scum element?' - Former Donegal star has his say on sledging

Brendan Devenney discussed Gaelic Football’s hot topic on Newstalk last night

FORMER DONEGAL STAR Brendan Devenney didn’t mince his words on the sledging issue last night.

The classy forward told Newstalk that the current blight on Gaelic Football has “turned his stomach” after Donegal minor boss Declan Bonner revealed that one of his players was subjected to the most vile form of verbal abuse last weekend.

1992 All-Ireland winner Bonner told the Donegal News that his captain Micheál Carroll was taunted over the death of his father during last Sunday’s championship clash with Tyrone, a county already in the spotlight following the tempestuous senior clash with Donegal.

Bonner admitted that he is considering turning his back on the game due to the “toxic” nature of sledging in the game.

He levelled a serious allegation at Tyrone, claiming that two Tyrone players goaded 17-year-old Carroll about the death of his father Francie, who passed away in February of last year.

Declan Bonner Donegal minor boss Declan Bonner is considering turning his back on Gaelic Football James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

And Devenney told the Off The Ball team on Newstalk: ”(Sledging) is festering away and something needs to be done.

I heard about it on Sunday evening and it turned my stomach and there were a couple of people close to the action that heard it.

“We’re going down the road of are we allowing this scum element and scum talk?

“There’s a big difference between a bit of banter and slagging and there’s definitely levels of sledging where you give it and take it a bit.

“But now we’re getting to a phase where people are just in people’s ears and properly doing research and goading them.

“I mean, how do these lads even know this information? That’s what kind of scares me.”

Devenney believes that Donegal, Armagh, Tyrone and Monaghan are the worst offenders and urged referees to stamp out the problem by dishing out black cards.

In the aftermath of Tipperary’s EirGrid All-Ireland U21 final defeat to Tyrone, members of the Premier County camp were left deeply unhappy by some of the off-the-ball antics employed by their opponents, another clear indication that sledging is rampant at all levels.

John Evans makes six changes to Roscommon team for London showdown

3 Monaghan changes for Ulster battle with Cavan from team who ran Dublin close

Close
18 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Sideshow Brendan
    Favourite Sideshow Brendan
    May 14th 2016, 9:53 PM

Next season will be one of the most interesting seasons in an age. Leicester and Tottenham have money, Liverpool are doing well. United will buy big. And Man City will have to do a clear out. A few new names from the Euros will prob make big transfers. And as for Long, the better he is doing the better for us. For all the bitching people done about Robbie we can clearly see how he dragged us for years

Mute Cathal Shannon
    Favourite Cathal Shannon
    May 15th 2016, 2:51 AM

Milan baros…… Supasta

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    May 14th 2016, 10:27 PM

Ye boys working here on the 42 are mad to get Coleman and McCarthy to ‘bigger’ clubs. Their performances this year would leave a lot to be desired I’d be surprised if a ‘big’ club would come in for them. They ain’t Denis Irvin and Roy Keane so get over it!

Mute Ewan Euphrenza
    Favourite Ewan Euphrenza
    May 15th 2016, 12:29 PM

Coleman had plenty of interest when he made the team of the year in 2014 and McCarthy has been inquired after by the likes of Spurs before, even though it might not have gone anywhere. I think this shows they should have been more ruthless and grabbed their chances with both hands. It’s a short career.

Mute Kieran McCann
    Favourite Kieran McCann
    May 15th 2016, 12:40 PM

McCarthy to Spurs could be a good move for both parties. He can provide an extra holding midfielder with Dier and Dembele and for McCarthy will have chance to play CL.

Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien
    May 14th 2016, 9:53 PM

I think Shane Long is great but there is no doubt that he is wasteful in the premier league and does miss a couple before he scores but this season he has done well. Hope he pushes on for the euros and stays at Southampton!

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    May 14th 2016, 10:09 PM

I agree I think the author has got a slightly over board here !

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    May 14th 2016, 10:03 PM

As a gooner I just can’t see the immediate future improving at all. Bit harsh maybe to protest against Wenger but it’s time for a change. Fair fooks to Leicester though. The most exciting story in football since Denmark won the euro’s in 92. And as a diehard Ireland fan I dream of Ireland doing something similar

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    May 14th 2016, 10:45 PM

Funny you should mention it, if Ireland hadn’t fooked up in Poland they would have been a serious team at Euro 92. The team were at their peak that year.

Mute Cormac
    Favourite Cormac
    May 14th 2016, 10:51 PM

I was only 2 when Denmark won the euros but leicester’s success surely has to be so much more exciting and impressive. Denmark won three games to win the Euros! I don’t need to tell ye what Leicester did!

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Colm O'Sullivan
    Favourite Colm O'Sullivan
    May 15th 2016, 7:22 AM

They won more than three. 6 at least.

Mute Keith Fealy
    Favourite Keith Fealy
    May 15th 2016, 1:38 PM

They won 2 in normal time and one on penos. There was only 8 teams in the Euros back then. Not that spectacular of an achievement. Greece in 2004 would be closer to what Leicester did but still miles away.

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    May 14th 2016, 10:46 PM

Would love to see Liverpool and Atletico win their European cup finals. I reckon they both have fantastic chances.

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    May 14th 2016, 10:52 PM

Have a wee bet on for that, so I hope so too!

Mute Dáibh Tett
    Favourite Dáibh Tett
    May 14th 2016, 10:36 PM

Don’t agree with it being the
    Minority that want Wenger to stay. I’m a Arsenal fan and want to him to see out his contract. It’s the media that’s made the hype surrounding Wenger. The protest game had just as many fans chanting FOR than against Wenger. Man is a legend and deserves our respect and deserves to see out his contract.

Mute Sideshow Brendan
    Favourite Sideshow Brendan
    May 14th 2016, 10:41 PM

You’re definitely right. Be crazy to sack him. Although they will have to put in a long term plan replacing him – he is probably the only manager now who has control over the whole club. If they don’t plan they will end up a mess like United and forced to spend hundreds of millions to get back to top 4. And that’s coming from a Spurs fan!

Mute D walsh
    Favourite D walsh
    May 14th 2016, 10:42 PM

So you want him out then

See 5 more replies ▾
    Mute Dáibh Tett
    Favourite Dáibh Tett
    May 14th 2016, 11:21 PM

Spot on Sideshow. It would be mad to sack with out a proper long term plan in place. I’d expect him to still have a big role at the club which would be amazing for any manager who comes in to have that experience to draw from. I don’t think it’s a matter of his style of football that has some fans screaming for his head but more that he hasn’t brought in that world class striker to lead the line which admittedly he is partially to blame for alright. You get the sense that he knows he has to spend big and bring in that big name this summer but to call for his sacking is a bit much IMO. I doubt any manager (with the exception of Fergie) could have managed CL quali for 18 season in a row and that alone deserves massive plaudits for keeping Arsenal a “big club”
    PS. If you lot could lose tomorrow that’d be great. Cheers ;)

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    May 15th 2016, 12:21 AM

Ye’re gas, I just don’t get the calls for this big name striker, vardy was hardly a big name, Aguero is a big name but he still didn’t guarantee city the league, besides Giroud has one of the highest goal to minutes played ratio in the league, Sanchez is class, and ye’ve loads of attacking players, it’s at the heart of the defence is ye’re biggest problem, look at any league winning side from living memory and they’re all built on solid defensive foundations, no side would have ever won the league with an aging per mertesacker at the heart of its defence

Mute Dáibh Tett
    Favourite Dáibh Tett
    May 15th 2016, 12:49 AM

Barca would say otherwise. Haven’t been Defensively sound all year. If it was the premier league they played in they’d leak goals. Its that front three of MSN made the difference so I say yes, a big name striker is of massive importance for a team to win a league. Leicester was a freak occurrence that we might never see in our lifetime again. Giroud is a solid squad player. Good footballer and great to bring off the bench but leading the line id say no. He scored last weekend, his first goal since March 4th. Says enough for me

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    May 15th 2016, 9:06 AM

How many minutes of football did Giroud actually play in that space of time, and no vardy isn’t a total aberration, look at Martial for instance – plucked from relative obscurity. By your logic the Barca defence is no better than arsenals defence, I’m sorry but I’d take pique and mascherano any day over mertesacker, even koscielny is decent but gets muscled out of it in the air a lot. So unless ye are going to go and buy three of the best attackers in the world then no I don’t think one more striker will win the league for ye. How many times have I seen mertesacker vacate central defence and then fail to get back in time, it happened against spurs and again against city. Huth and morgan have shown whats needed to win titles.

Mute Ewan Euphrenza
    Favourite Ewan Euphrenza
    May 15th 2016, 12:32 PM

“plucked from relative obscurity” – Ya, but for how much money?

Mute Showbiz Babyyy
    Favourite Showbiz Babyyy
    May 14th 2016, 10:10 PM

Fancy Liverpool next year.

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    May 14th 2016, 10:47 PM

Showbiz

Rumors abound that Klopp will see Sturridge, bring in Goetze and make Firmino his main striker. It would be some statement from Klopp if he were to do that.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    May 15th 2016, 12:00 AM

Top class? No. Has played better this season with an extended run of games but one season does not make a player. Now i might have the bar too high but top class for me would be lukaku and higuain while world class would be suarez, ibrahimovic. Messi and ronaldo have their own special class. Am I being too restrictive?

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    May 15th 2016, 12:25 AM

Lukaku and Higuain are Europa class at best whilst Ibrahamovic is merely a flat-track tosser!!

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    May 15th 2016, 12:27 AM

Suarez surely has to be in a class above Ibra? He’s proven himself at Barca while Ibra floundered there

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    May 15th 2016, 12:21 AM

Only took him 8seasons….

Mute noel smullen
    Favourite noel smullen
    May 14th 2016, 11:41 PM

Long might be great with klopp?

Mute Neil79
    Favourite Neil79
    May 14th 2016, 10:49 PM

Shane Long is an all round striker but I’m surprised no one has given Connor Salmon a mention , given his recent performances he ought to be given a place for the Euros next month

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    May 14th 2016, 11:42 PM

And starting as lone striker of course!

Mute Gary Brennan
    Favourite Gary Brennan
    May 15th 2016, 10:11 AM

Shane long is far from being a Top class striker. He is John walters with A bit more pace but doesn’t hold the Ball as well as Walters does. Thats the decision O’Neill must make a mediocre striker that can Run in behind of One that can hold the Ball up to involve others in the play.

Mute Rory Corbett
    Favourite Rory Corbett
    May 15th 2016, 9:53 AM

With no European Football to distract, Chelsea under Conte should be a good bet next season for top 4.

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    May 15th 2016, 12:03 PM

‘hon the ‘hoe. G’wan the Long fella

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.