MONAGHAN TEENAGER AARON McKenna picked up his second ring win as a professional – and a first stoppage – on his American TV debut in California overnight.
‘The Silencer’ of Smithborough took less than a round to blast out the previously 1-1(1KO) Jose Palacios of Colorado on a Golden Boy card which was broadcast live, coast-to-coast, on ESPN Deportes.
The former eight-time Irish champion and European Schoolboys gold medalist saw his originally-scheduled sophomore bout postponed a fortnight ago when his opponent was caught allegedly forging documents, but McKenna sealed a quick return date through promoters Golden Boy and management team Sheer Sports.
The 18-year-old welterweight sealed Palacios’ fate more quickly still, following up on a thunderous overhand right to the temple to fell the American early, before unleashing another barrage after Palacios beat the count.
During the latter exchange, Palacios protested that he had been caught by a rabbit punch but then refused to respond when the referee asked if he wished to continue.
Edward Hernandez Sr duly called a halt to the bout two minutes and 46 seconds into the opener.
Aaron McKenna #GBonESPN pic.twitter.com/rOiLKvUWmb
— caposa (@Grabaka_Hitman) March 23, 2018
McKenna, now 2-0(1KO), is Ireland’s youngest professional boxer, and also the youngest prizefighter signed to Oscar de la Hoya’s Golden Boy Promotions stable.
The42 understands he’ll return to the ring in less than three weeks’ time at the same location – Indio’s Fantasy Springs Casino.
After 161-bout amateur career which yielded unprecedented silverware and only nine childhood defeats, the six-foot-one gunslinger has aims of becoming a world champion within his first three years in the paid ranks, but likely won’t be rushed by his team: for one thing, he isn’t yet fully grown; McKenna, now operating at 147 pounds, was fighting at 114 just over two years ago.
Golden Boy wish to eventually unleash McKenna upon America’s Irish-heavy east coast as they’re now beginning to do with his stablemate Jason Quigley of Donegal, though ‘The Silencer’ dreams of one day fighting for world honours at St Tiernach’s Park in Clones – the home of Monaghan GAA.
Make way for @Aaronmckenna99! “The Silencer” with a big first round knockout on @espn to improve to 2-0! 🇮🇪 #FightingIrish #GBPonESPN pic.twitter.com/0oMysq0QWd
— Golden Boy Boxing (@GoldenBoyBoxing) March 23, 2018
Ireland’s greatest goal scorer. Decent fella, living the dream, fair play Roberto.
Well said Shane. Respect to Mr Keane..
Go on Keano ya good thing!
Good man robbie. Best of luck to u and family
Great to see the typical Irish begrudgery is still Alive and well.
Yawn
It’s sure is. Fair play Robbie, will be a while till his goal scoring record for Ireland will be matched
Jaysus you’d think people were slatin’ Ray D’Arcy the way you’re going on!
Ah now come on fair play to him.
Delighted he finally realised his boyhood dream to captain L.A. Galaxy. He must be thrilled.
Why do so many Irish people belittle and begrudge Robbie Keane’s success ? It leads me to suspect that you are leading lives of failed hopes. Maybe the slow dawning of the fact that you have neither the ability or work ethic to ever achieve anything other than the company of your peer group on the dole queue is the root of your jealousy.
Don’t be hating on an Irish legend..
Bitches be hatin’ Scott, bitches be hatin.
Haters gonna hate
Come on Keano, come on the Irish, fair play to ya boy , Keano,Keano, Keano
Mr Duignan, you suck the sweat from dead mens balls.
He’s the luckiest man alive!!
Agreed. My big toe nail has more leadership qualities than keane.
He came on the late late show to say we should lay off Staunton, and that he was a great manager.
3 weeks later Staunton sacked.
Recently did the same for Trap.
He know his stuff.
he backs his manager, he doesn’t play for chelsea..
Because you/your toe nail have captained Madrid or was it Barca? Jog on
Your a useless turd duignan. Robbie is an honest decent hardworking player who is respected at every club he s played at. Fair play robbie.
‘Its been my boyhood dream…. Yada yada’
Jaysus if i knew they were stuck id have signed up
only English people with a deep rooted hatred of Irish people use that term you shameless fool
I love my country but the amount of begrudgery that goes on in Ireland, makes me absolutely sick it’s disgusting, what a bunch a w^nk?rs we have in our country, Keano=legend plain and simple!
Well said Conor. The guy gets a silly amount of abuse. One of our greatest players ever
Keane a true legend, greatest ever striker we ever produced and probably the best wel see for a long time!
Sure it was his dhreammm , as well as to play for wolves, leeds, inter, celtic, spurs, liverpool, spurs again —- ah no fair play to him…
and Coventry ……… and West Ham …….. and Villa
Begrudge much?
Certainly not, an Irish hero in my eyes. I was just pointing out the other clubs he has played for. The man has done so much for this country and owes us nothing.
Its always been a dream..zzzzzz.
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha sorry ha ha ha ha ha ………ah man they must really really really stuck
They really must be! Imagine playing in the equivalent of lower championship in England, getting all that dosh and vitamin D and still acting the big shot. Funny recently when he was referred to as another fan posing with becks at a basketball game. To**er.
You’re a sap Niall
Congratulations Robbie. Well done
In related news the undertaker just pinned hulk hogan….
Thats a lie! the undertaker never pinned hulk hogan. Ricky the dragon steam boat got his ass handed to him by Jake the snake once, but the hulk was always solid.
It’s all about as relevant as that Keane becoming LA Galaxy captain…
Jake the snake is the main man
Will someone please think of Hacksaw Jim Duggan!!!!
All the heads putting him down could u please post a snippet of yer own achievements to date or are ye just preaching from the fence…fair play to Robbie go on boy..ps I hate soccer :-)
He plays in a league which is of a lower standard than the league of Ireland and he’s only been made captain because Landon his gone AWOL … Sorry but facts are facts
And you’re a tosser. That’s a fact
Lower standard than League of Ireland? Not sure how you’ve come up with that!
Yeah,, there is no standard lower than league of Ireland , so there!!!!
Facts are indeed facts. I just don’t think you mentioned any.
Can you explain how the standard of MLS is lower than League of Ireland, please? Is it the level of skill? Goals per game avg.? The crowds? Food served at games? What?
You are a fool.
Thats a tight haircut!
Wank€r is what u are
Go rob
He wouldn’t captain a wet fart!
It’s like captaining Bournemouth without the huge money but who cares. He’s still captaining
Robbie, you are a legend! Well done on the captaincy! Whatever the people that don’t like about you, i dont know but tell them look at the records! #jelousygetsyounowhere!
It’s a childhood dream to be made captain.
Since he was a child he always dreamed of becoming the captain of LA galaxy !
Jaysus
Who, and what is soccer?
Wonder if it was his boyhood dream to captain la galaxy.
Did you have to scroll past the other 20 comments the very same to make yours ?
Have no time for him after the late late show episode havin a go at Irish fans c ya robbie don’t come back
He should just shut up about the dreams he has, play football and good luck to him!